Abducted

9781612185095_p0_v3_s260x420Let me start by saying that I was really looking forward to reading this book, and hopefully getting interested in the ‘Lizzy Gardner’ series. Unfortunately, that’s not to be.

The overall story idea is a good one – teenager gets abducted, eventually escapes, grows up to teach other young women how to defend themselves, bad guy returns – drama drama drama…yea, I was sold, sounded great. The things that really let the book down, for me anyway, is the multitude of characters. There’s too many of them to keep track of, and not one of them is particularly interesting, not even the protagonist.

I didn’t find Lizzy endearing, I found her irritating. I didn’t care about her trauma, or how reckless she was with her own life…I just didn’t feel anything toward her. She’s the protagonist, I should care about her, I should want her to survive. Nope, couldn’t care less about her =/

I’m not saying that T.R. Ragan is a poor writer, far from it – some of the scenes in the book were good, they just weren’t brilliant or at all surprising/shocking. You could tell where everything was going from very early on in the book, it was linear and that, for me, made it very boring. I think if there was more information regarding Lizzy’s abduction, and more scenes with her dealing with her captor, I may have related to her, and cared for her. Instead, the author chose to reference things that happened during Lizzy’s captivity, but that we never got to read first hand. Instead of so many characters and over complicating, what should be a brilliant plot, I think the book would have benefited more from experiencing more of Lizzy’s trauma, actually with her. As opposed to it being casually mentioned. I want tension, I want the ‘Oh God…don’t do that!’ and ‘okay, next chapter x infinity’.

Usually, I can read a book (sometimes 2+) per night (I’m an extremely fast reader), but it took me 3 nights to complete this book – purely down to how irritating I found Lizzy, and how obvious the storyline was. Having said that, I don’t feel that all of the threads were tied up, but whatever. Perhaps the next book(s) in the series will explain things better. Unfortunately, I doubt I’ll be bothering with further Lizzy Gardner books.

It always saddens me when I don’t enjoy a book, because I can see how much time and effort the author has put into the pages and their story world…and while I respect the author for doing what they love, this book just really wasn’t for me.

Now, my not liking the book doesn’t mean it’s a bad book – it simply means that I didn’t enjoy it, but you might. So go and buy it, read it, then pop back here and tell me what you thought of it. There are few things I enjoy more than a good discussion about books.

 

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on July 22, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
