31 days, 31 gifts// Corey Taylor

On the…what is today…? Ah, the 11th…

SS_L9O4538_HR

On the 11th of December, The ESC_Verse would like to share with you, the pure talent – that is Corey Taylor. I’ve mentioned Mr Taylor a few times in the past, but he’s bloody amazing. Ergo, he deserves many more mentions. Also – Hey Tuesday! Pig n’ a poke! – as with most posts lately, very video/image heavy…but oh so worth it.

corey-taylor-now__Corey is the lyricist and vocalist for the bands Slipknot, and Stone Sour, respectively. In my opinion, he’s got one of the absolute best voices, in the whole of metal today. He’s just incredible. You can listen to an older Slipknot song – Spit It Out, for instance *it’s one my favourite ‘knot tracks*, then listen to Snuff (also by Slipknot) or Hesitate (by Stone Sour), and you’d swear it wasn’t the same bloke singing.

For me, Slipknot are primal…their music isn’t appreciated enough, simply because idiots go ‘oh, they wear those masks, and growl a lot’ – do I whine that these pop bands wear 37 different layers of make-up caked to their faces…? No, you don’t. So STFU, and listen to the music, then we’ll talk again. Where was I…? (If you’re an ESC tumblr_m792mhRwQK1rognc3o1_1280regular, you know that I go off on tangents). Ah yes. Slipknot are primal, aggressive, chaotic – with their lyrics generally leaning towards anger, hate, and all those other fun words for ‘will you just piss off, and leave me alone already?’ Whereas Stone Sour are more…hmm…I think their quite melodic. Corey’s voice on some of the SS tracks, it’s just to die for. He’s just an incredibly talented individual.

So, I’ve rambled quite a bit…onto the music! It’s gonna be a mash-up of my preferred songs, by both Slipknot, and Stone Sour…I’d ask that if you’re here, you listen to all the songs – to ‘get’ what I mean about how versatile Corey is/can be.

Slipknot – Snuff. This song is incredible. Listen to it, really listen to it. I don’t usually provide full lyrics, but for this track, I am. Listen to this, then try telling me that Slipknot suck. Also, the video is just amazing. I genuinely do not understand how anyone could not love this track, it’s one of the most brilliantly written songs I’ve heard in a very long time.

Slipknot – Snuff lyrics.

Bury all your secrets in my skin
Come away with innocence, and leave me with my sins
The air around me still feels like a cage
And love is just a camouflage for what resembles rage again

So if you love me, let me go. 
And run away before I know.
My heart is just too dark to care. 
I can’t destroy what isn’t there.
Deliver me into my fate, if I’m alone I cannot hate
I don’t deserve to have you
My smile was taken long ago, if I can change I hope I never know

I still press your letters to my lips
And cherish them in parts of me that savour every kiss
I couldn’t face a life without your light
But all of that was ripped apart, when you refused to fight

So save your breath, I will not care. 
I think I made it very clear.
You couldn’t hate enough to love. 
Is that supposed to be enough?
I only wish you weren’t my friend. 
Then I could hurt you in the end.
I never claimed to be a saint
My own was banished long ago, it took the death of hope to let you go

So break yourself against my stones
And spit your pity in my soul
You never needed any help
You sold me out to save yourself
And I won’t listen to your shame
You ran away, you’re all the same
Angels lie to keep control
My love was punished long ago
If you still care, don’t ever let me know
If you still care, don’t ever let me know…

Slipknot – I Am Hated. I’m fat, and I’m ugly, and proud – so f**k you! Now, do you see what I mean about Corey’s vocal versatility…? Still not convinced…? Onto the next track.

Slipknot – Psychosocial. I just love this track, and I think it’s another good example of Corey’s amazing voice =) actually, the entire band are freaking amazing. Joey Jordison is one of the greatest drummers ever, IMHO.

Stone Sour – 30/30-150. Corey’s voice on this song…Sorry, I got entranced by all the delicious sounds for a moment there. I think Corey sounds quite aggressive on this track, which just works for me. He doesn’t just sing the lyrics, he feels them, he makes you feel them. He’s not an artist that you mindlessly listen to, he’s got a very commanding voice (and stage presence), I think he has anyway.

Slipknot – Spit It Out. As previously stated, this is my favourite track by ‘Knot (aside from Vermillion Pt 2 & Snuff, obviously), we’ll say it’s my favourite non-mellow Slipknot track. It’s aggressive, frantic – it’s the polar opposite to the likes of Snuff (SK) or Miracles (SS).

Stone Sour – Imperfect. You can probably tell that I’ve deliberately put Spit It Out, and Imperfect together…just to really drive home my versatility point. This song, like Snuff, is…it’s just beautiful. The lyrics for this track…they’re just…everything, I guess. ‘oh…and you were so perfectly imperfect...’ & ‘what do you wanna hear? Do you wanna know how many times I tore myself apart, ’cause you’re not here…‘ This song is perfection.

I could actually go on posting videos all day…so many amazing songs, by both bands. But…I’m going to limit myself to just 3 more…

Slipknot – Sulfur. I think this track demonstrates Joey’s insane drumming skills, as well as how strong Corey’s voice truly is. I also love how much Slipknot’s sound has matured over the years – if you listen to say…My Plague or Heretic Anthem, then listen to Sulfur or Dead Memories, you really do hear the huge difference. It’s like listening to two completely different bands. Notice I’m not providing the videos for you, go find them on YT or download them – on iTunes (or go buy the hard-copy), if you please, decent bands deserve your support!

Slipknot – Vermillion Part 2. I know I’m repeating myself, but seriously…his voice. Gorgeous. I won’t let this build up inside of me…

Stone Sour – Gone Sovereign/Absolute Zero. Both from Stone Sour’s latest album ‘House of Gold & Bones’ – go buy it for yourself as an early Christmas present. Also…how sexy is Corey looking, and sounding…? Ohmy.

I’m fortunate enough to have seen Stone Sour twice, and Slipknot once. Along with meeting Coreycorey-taylor twice – he’s just such a lovely bloke, he’s happy to interact with his fans, he takes a genuine interest in what you have to say. He’s just so…not up himself, basically. He’s an incredibly talented man, who I personally cannot listen to enough. Ah ha, you thought I wasn’t gonna mention his neck, didn’t you? =p Well you were wrong, check that neck out…it’s insane!

Stone Sour

Bonus tracks 😉

Stone Sour – Wicked Game. Anyone who knows me (even just a tiny bit), knows that I’m completely obsessed/in love with HIM – so when I say that I prefer Corey’s version of WG, to Ville’s…you know it’s a pretty big deal. Corey takes this song (originally by Chris Issak), and makes it his own, and it’s just beautiful.

Apocalyptica feat. Corey Taylor – I’m Not Jesus. There’s not really anything I can say, that I haven’t already said. He’s incredible, ’nuff said.

Corey Taylor – X-M@$. The one thing to remember about Corey, aside from how talented he is, is how hilariously awesome he is. Enjoy, kids. ;-p fa lalalalala…go f**k yourself!

tumblr_me9zrgmFX21r3eqhto1_400

See you tomorrow 😉

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on December 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
