31 days, 31 gifts// Good Books

On the 7th of December, The ESC_Verse wasn’t updated, because Sarah was quite unwell. Luckily, she knows a madman with a blue box. Hey presto! The 7th of December has an entry after all. Alls well, that ends well.

I read a lot, an awful lot. I tend to read more than I game, or even cook. Books were my very first form of escapism, and they remain my favourite. I read literally anything, and everything. So today, I’m going to ramble about a couple of my favourite books…

The-Book-ThiefThe Book Thief by Markus Zusak. This is actually one of the only books to make me cry, it’s a beautifully written story about a young girl named Liesel. The book is narrated by Death, and tells the tale of Liesel’s life with her foster parents during World War II, in-between concealing a young Jewish man named Max, declining kisses with her friend Rudy, and stealing books from the Mayor’s library…It’s the interaction between Liesel, and Hans, her foster-father that I found so beautiful. The way he teaches her to read, and write – after finding a book, her first stolen book (she stole it at the funeral of her brother). I don’t want to spoil the book for anyone, and I’d hope that people will read it time, and again, because it really is a beautiful story. It’s a book that no matter how many times I’ve read it, I can still enjoy it every single time.

Flesh House by Stuart MacBride. Flesh House is the 4th book in the Logan ‘Lazarus’ McRae series, FHouseset in the ‘Granite City’ of Aberdeen. I love all of the McRae books, as I think the character of Logan is brilliant, and instantly likeable. Flesh House is my personal favourite, as I love how twisted it is. Also, the ending is brilliant – it’s horrifying, and just perfect. The whole book is quite gruesome though, once you realise exactly what’s been going on, and why/how the murders took place. Seriously, it’s a must read – whether you’ve read the previous 3 McRae books or not. I started with Flesh House, then went on to buy/read all the others in the series.

Heartsick by Chelsea Cain. ‘The Beauty Killer’ Gretchen Lowell, a flawlessly beautiful serial killer, chelseacainheartsickwho spends her days either trying to seduce Archie (our detective protagonist), torture him, kill/save him or a mixture of all 3. The thing I love about the Beauty Killer series is how it’s so easy to imagine the books being turned into a TV show, or even a film. The books are brilliant written, but Heartsick remains my personal favourite. I love the character of Gretchen, she’s manipulative, extremely clever, and just the right amount of psychopath. Her interactions with Archie are absolutely brilliant, how possessive she is of him, and how weak Archie becomes when he’s with her. I also love the description of what Gretchen does to Archie…how he’s physically scarred, as well as mentally scarred by Gretchen…yet he still allows himself to be taken in by her. Brilliant series, I can’t recommend Chelsea Cain’s books enough.

So yea, a couple of my favourite books. I imagine they’re all quite reasonably priced by now, so could make good stocking fillers =)

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on December 7, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
