31 days, 31 gifts// Apoptygma Berzerk

On the 6th of December, The ESC_Verse gifts to you, Apoptygma Berzerk!

In the beginning
God created the heaven and the earth.
And the earth was without form and void.
And darkness was upon the face of the deep.
And God said: ‘Let there be light’
And there was light.
And God saw the light, that it was good.
And God divided the light from the darkness.
And God called the light day, and the darkness he called night.
And God saw everything that he had made, and behold…it was good.
And God created man.
And man created machine,
And machine,
Machine created music.
And machine saw everything it had made and said:
‘Behold’…

Apoptygma Berzerk – Kathy’s Song [VNV Nation Remix]. For me, this song is pure perfection. The apoptygma-berzerksong’s tempo is so…sad. It’s a beautiful song, but to me at least, it sounds so very lonely. I don’t imagine this makes much sense, but for me – music is a living, breathing entity. Sometimes it’s happy/upbeat, and sometimes it’s not…sometimes it’s darker, alone, depressed. One of the most amazing things about this song, is the fact the chorus is actually a text to voice program/software. Would my computer know me better than anyone, in the whole world…? Yes. Do androids dream of electric sheep…? You know I’m not a Saint…

APB are currently: Stephen Groth – vocals, programming, guitars. Brandon Smith – guitar. Thomas Jakobsen – drums.

APB or APOP are a Norwegian electronic-synthpop/rock band. They’re been apoptygma_berzerk_02knocking around since ’89, but still receive nowhere near the recognition they deserve. A friend of mine listened to this band (Kathy’s Song, actually), and labelled it ‘dub-step’ (I had to google WTF that meant), and I’m sorry – but no. Just no. I can’t stand genre placement, but if you’re going to insist upon it, at least get it right. Jeez. If we must label them, let’s go with futurepop. =)

Anyway. I can write all about them, give you the generic autobiography…or I can share some of my favourite tracks with you, and explain why I love said tracks so much. I always feel the more personal approach is better. *shrugs* Also, Stephen Groth is incredibly sexy, I just had to get that off my chest 😉

APB – Cambodia [Kim Wilde Cover]. This is probably APB’s most well known track (even though it’s a cover of Kim Wilde’s ’81 release), and it’s got a really upbeat sound to it – with just a touch of sadness, until you listen to the lyrics. It’s a brilliant song.

APB – Nothing Else Matters [Metallica Cover]. I love this song by Metallica, and I do like this cover. However, I do not think it’s better than the original. Come on, it’s ‘Tallica! Still a great cover though =) and the end…yea. It’s pretty amazing.

APB – Non-Stop Violence. Another relatively popular track. NSV remains one of my favourite APB tracks, simply because I loved their older music. True electro =) Non-stop violence they feed us cascades, of non-believers dying in the sand…

APB – Electricity [OMD Cover]. Another cover, but it’s brilliant. This is in my top 5 ‘get up & go’ songs.

APB – You Keep Me From Breaking Apart. I’m very much the type of music lover, that cannot stand the genre thing, or the ‘sell-out’ thing. I like this song. I like APOP’s older albums, I kind of like some of their newer. They’re a brilliant band, so let’s stop all the hate.

I’m slightly sad panda-ish, 90% of the tracks I want to include, are blocked on YT -.- So look, APB are an amazing, and that’s pretty much all you need to know. Oh, and go buy their music! Support decent music!

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on December 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
