31 days, 31 gifts// Auditory Completion

On the 2nd of December, The ESC_Verse presents to you…a small collection of songs, that everyone should hear, at least once. Each of these songs…they’re just so beautiful. If our souls could talk, this is how I’d wish for mine to sound like. Clean, pure, stunning, complete. All I ask, is that you listen to each track, before deciding you love or hate any of the songs. Listen, let the music wash over you, and if you still don’t need these bands in your life…well…maybe my idea of true beauty is just different to yours.

Please note – this post is very video heavy, but oh so worth your time.

Porcupine Tree – Waiting [Phase 2]. This is such a…moody sounding song, until 1:50-ish. Then…it just sounds so…alone. Not a lot of my descriptions make sense, when it comes to music, because what I hear – the way I hear it, the way I perceive it, is completely different to how you do. I’d hope we can all agree that this track is…well, it’s astounding. The drumming in this song alone…just wow. The brainwashed do not know they are brainwashed…

Long Distance Calling – Aurora. Another much overlooked band. It really does make me sick that talentless clones make it big, when genuinely talented musicians are barely even recognised. When the guitar kicks in, it always feels like my heart is sort of…restarting. I don’t know why, but as soon as I hear that riff, I become to aware…while not managing to notice anything other than the music, my heartbeat, and the way it almost feels like that place just before you wake up…I make no sense, because this music turns me outside in, downside up.

Anathema – Internal Landscapes. I’m fortunate enough to have seen this truly amazing band a few times, their music literally leaves me speechless. I was peace, I was love, I was the brightness, it was part of me…

65daysofstatic – Drove Through Ghosts to Get Here. This song is…it’s everything. Everything I can say, everything I can’t. It’s peaceful, lonely, desperate, sad, happy, abrupt, frantic. 65dos amaze me. I will never be able to listen to this song too many times.

maybeshewill – Critical Distance. I’ve mentioned this band, and this track, so many times…but I am serious when I say, this song is part of me. I listened to this track (and ‘Echoes’ by God is an Astronaut) on repeat for 9 whole days, when my Grandma died. This song hurts to hear, listening to it now, as I type this, I have a lump in my throat. Music should invoke emotion, it should make us feel…something. This song makes me feel…so many things. Sad, sad for so long…then at 3:07, I feel hope. This song makes me feel like I’m fading away, ceasing to exist…then it revives me, pulls me back. Music is everything to me. This band deserves all of the love, and respect, in the world. Their music is pure beauty.

From the Sky – Someone to Remember. FtS sadly ended in ’08, but the majority of the band are still making music under the name Helsingfors. This track is so peaceful, it’s one of those songs that you fall asleep to, or listen to on a rainy day while you’re indoors, snug and warm.

God is an Astronaut – Suicide by Star. This band leave me stunned, literally stunned. There is always so much said through their music, without a single word needing to be uttered. If I can get even just 1 person to listen to bands like this, and for that single person to hear, see, feel how beautiful the music is…then I’ll be a very happy indeed.

This Will Destroy You – Threads. I have no idea why, but this song makes me think of freshly cut grass, and the coldness of snow. You know when you can smell the snow…? =/ I’m not even sure how to make myself understood. This song reminds me of…good times.

Explosions in the Sky – The Birth and Death of the Day. What can really be said…? What can I say, that I haven’t said so many times above…? There are no words. Although I will say…the drumming? Mind blowing.

 

Bonus tracks 😉

Long Distance Calling – Invisible Giants.

God is an Astronaut – Echoes. This song is a lot like ‘Critical Distance’ – emotionally, for me. This song is usually the last thing I hear at night, and the first thing I hear in the morning. I can’t even explain just how much I love this song. This is gonna sound really stupid…but this song is a ‘constant’ for me. When I’m lonely, happy, sad, tired, excited…no matter what I’m feeling, this song will just match how I feel.

If you’re reading this, then thank you for listening to the songs.

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on December 2, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
