Sar’s ShOcktober// Mr Crowley

‘Mr Crowley, did you talk to the dead…?’

Day 20. Ozzy Osbourne is a great many things, to me? He’s one of my favourite artists. I adore Black Sabbath, and through my dad, have a great appreciation for Ozzy’s solo career too. Mr Crowley is one of my favourite O2 songs, topped only by Perry Mason. So yea…there’s been a few covers of this song over the years, so I’m just gonna show you some of the better ones, or ones that I enjoy =) the song, if anyone didn’t know, is inspired by the occultist & Thelema creator, Aleister Crowley.

Ozzy Osbourne – Mr Crowley

I actually really like Ozzy’s voice, I think he sounds very unique, and his voice suits the style of music he plays. Also…that solo by Randy Rhoads…wow. Just wow. Randy is in my top 5 guitarists of all time, the man was beyond talented.

Moonspell – Mr Crowley [Cover]

I do enjoy this cover, I really do…but honestly, I don’t think the cover is better than the original. The guitar solo is still stunning mind.

Cradle of Filth – Mr Crowley [Cover]

Obviously, there’s a massive difference to the original, but I really like that. I like how CoF have sort of created their own cover version of it. Personally, I love it, but I love CoF anyway. Which I’m not going to deny or try to explain why, I like them – I don’t care about ‘selling out’ (which is one of the stupidest things ever, when it comes to music. People need to get a grip.) or the incredibly stupid notion that they’re Satan worshippers, seriously, people need to get themselves a life. I adore Dani Filth, I think he’s beautiful first off, and secondly – I adore his lyrics, he’s just brilliant. End of. Back to the song in question, while I do enjoy this cover, it still doesn’t come close to the original. I do like how…dramatic this version is though.

Tim (Ripper) Owens with Yngwie Malmsteen – Mr Crowley [Cover]

This is actually my least favourite cover version =/ it’s still a good cover, but…while it’s enjoyable enough, it just doesn’t feel…legit? If that makes sense. It doesn’t feel like it was recorded in the hopes of being a tribute sort of cover, it almost feels like it’s trying to outdo the original, which is something it could never do. Ozzy’s voice fits the song better, I think anyway, and Randy’s guitar playing cannot be matched.

The Cardigans – Mr Crowley [Cover]

Okay, how different is that from the above versions? Quite drastic, isn’t it? I do quite like this version though, I think Nina has a beautiful voice, and it somehow does work for this song. I’m not saying it’s my favourite, as it really isn’t, but it is a very original cover version. I like that, like CoF, they’ve given the song their own take of it.

So yea, Ozzy is the clear winner, in my opinion – with CoF a close second =p

It’s such a shame that the musical world lost such an amazing guitarist, at such a young age. Randy Rhoads 1956-1982, guitar legend.

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on October 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
