Sar’s ShOctober// JTHM

“My delusionary Hell does not agree with yours!’

Day 5. I’ve mentioned Johnny the Homicidal Maniac before, during my ’31 days, 31 gifts’ posts. Nny is so awesome though, he deserves mentioning twice. Maybe even more. Nny is the brainchild of Jhonen Vasquez, the creator of Invader Zim *Doom doom doom do doom*, Squee! & I Feel Sick. Nny & Squee! are my personal favourites. I actually wish there were more than just the 7 issues of JtHM, Mr. Vasquez, get to it! =p

I just love how damaged Johnny is, how not wacky he is, how he strives to just go about life – but people just have to be…well…people-ish. Which means he then has to brutally murder them. And collect their blood, but not for drinking, damnit! I adore the conversations Nny has with Nail-Bunny, Mr. Eff (aka Mr. Fuck) & Psycho Dough-Boy (aka D-Boy), the 3 of them make up Johnny’s ‘head-voices’ (the 4th being Reverend Meat). Bunny is effectively Nny’s conscience – on occasion Nail-Bunny has tried reasoning with Nny with regards to his insanity. Mr. Eff is Nny’s homicidal maniac side – Mr. Eff encourages Nny to kill, lots. D-Boy is Nny’s self-loathing, who encourages Nny to kill himself.

The JtHM series has some truly brilliant quotes, with equally brilliant artwork – high contrast black & white, and I refer to it as ‘pointy’ or sharp drawings. I think it’s the dark humour, and (Not!) wacky characters, that I love most about this series.

“I detest sleep. I’ve got better things to do. Besides, I find it frightening – to awaken and be unsure of everything you remember about life not being just part of a dream. Waking means I’ve slept, and sleep dissolves what certainty I have left.”

The above quote is one (of many) favourites. I think it’s due to my own insomnia, and other issues that I won’t discuss here. I just love Jhonen for creating Nny, basically. And for the Z? (question sleep) concept.

The above image is the front cover for issue #4. I just love the imagery of Nny being ‘unplugged’, and his pose…he just looks so lost, and broken. I love it.

“I wish… I wish someone would just switch me off and… fix me.”                                                   “Bunny…?”                                                                                                                                                                         “Yes, Nny?”                                                                                                                                                                                   “…I’m not happy.”

The artwork really is beautiful, I’ve seen plenty of the Nny drawings coloured in on deviantart, and honestly, I really don’t like them =/ I just think the black & white works so well. It’s quite…moody at times, which again, I think just works in relation to Nny. Plus, the erratic borders, which sometimes contain hidden words/phrases, it all just works perfuctely 😉

Oh! How could I forget Squee! (the sound he makes when he’s scared, and of course makes the noise when he first meets Nny)…? Squee! (aka Todd) is Nny’s next door neighbour, his parents rarely (if ever) notice him, and his father resents him, lots. Nny is quite protective of Squee, when Squee is almost abducted by a paedophile, Nny ‘rescues’ him…then brutally murders, and mutilates him. Nny’s interest in Squee’s well being stems from Nny not wanting Squee to grow up into someone like Nny.

Seriously, I just adore Johnny ^_^

“You know that feeling you get? The one where you just know you’re going to projectile vomit out of every orifice? I feel that right now. I want you away. Leave me to my vomit.”

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on October 5, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
