Putting the lol back in to Halol!

I refer to Halo as Halol. Why? Because Halo is hilarious. And because I like how it sounds. Go on, say it ‘Halol…’ it just sounds and feels great on the tongue.

I’ve been playing Halo Reach…pretty much all day. Halo used to be pretty much the only multiplayer game, that I ever played, way back when I had a 20GB HDD – and thought it would last me forever. I was never good at it. I would average between 3-7 kills, and 10-30 deaths…per match. Seriously, I sucked.

I’m not the best Halo player, far from it in fact. But…I have improved greatly, since my early Halo 2/3 days. And I don’t think it’s a case of ‘developing’ skills, I think it’s a case of I’ve stopped taking gaming so seriously.

I think I’ve mentioned here before how I used to feel like I had to do well at games, due to my gender. I do not think female games are special, at all – but I did feel like I had to do well, due to being ‘just a girl’. And I have to say, that is one phrase I truly detest. I’m not ‘just a girl’, no female is ‘just a girl/woman’. No matter who we are or what we do, we are awesome.

I think having gotten over the whole ‘I need to be better, due to my gender disadvantage’, that I have improved as a gamer, overall. I can now average between 15-40 kills, and between 3-11 deaths per game. Purely based on my mindset of not giving a damn. I used to be very courteous with regards to multiplayer games, I wouldn’t go for the vehicles – I’d let players better than myself use them instead, same with weapons. Now? I go for the Spartan Laser every damn time, and I also go for the Ghost or Revnant (I freaking love the Revnant) all the time. Why? Because gaming isn’t about being courteous, gaming is about enjoying the game.

Now don’t get me wrong with the ‘gaming isn’t about being courteous’ statement. I mean that in the sense of, is anybody else gonna pass up the opportunity of a good weapon or vehicle for me? It’s highly unlikely. I do believe in being courteous in the sense of, show some damn respect. Don’t send someone abusive messages, just because they haven’t played fantastically, or because they have played well, and you’re just a sore loser.

What I’m trying to say is…it’s a game, a game is supposed to be fun. Gaming, for me, isn’t supposed to be taken seriously – it’s about having fun, with your friends or solo. Sure, it’s great to win, but it’s not the be all and end all. If you’re enjoying yourself, then you’re doing it right.

* Image from: shockingvideogamesecrets

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on June 3, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
