Gotta Collect ‘Em All!

I have a confession to make…I’m one of those gamers who will forsake the story mission, to run around looking for collectibles -.-

I’ve been playing Assassin’s Creed: Revelations for the past 3 hours, I’ve done nothing story related. All I’ve done is run around finding animus fragments, and buying buildings…doh! The exact same thing happened with Batman Arkham City. I got the game day of release, and played it for weeks…but only finished the story mid-December. I ended up just looking for Riddler trophies, and doing the side missions.

The exact same thing happened with Arkham Asylum, Assassin’s Creed, Assassin’s Creed 2 & Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood. I just forget all about actually wanting to complete the story, and run about looking for flags, feathers, trophies, riddles, etcetc.

Every new game I rent/buy, I always say to myself, ‘I’ll finish the story, then go back for the collectibles’ – it never goes that way! Even when I’ve got my gaming cohort texting/messaging me, flat out ordering me to stop collecting stuff, and do the bloody story – I always end up randomly stumbling upon something, thinking ‘I’ll collect just that one thing…’ and of course, that one thing ends up being 20 things later…

I’m only at the start of DNA sequence 3, on AC: R. I just can’t help it, I notice something shiny, and have to go find everything. I’m currently collecting the animus fragments, while looting the treasure chests too. Gah! Plus, every time I decide to at least try making my way over to the ‘!’ main quest marker, something shiny catches my eye…and there’s another 5 hours of my life, that I’ll never get back.

Damn you game designers, and your collectible crap!

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on January 14, 2012.

2 Responses to “Gotta Collect ‘Em All!”

  1. I hate you for this! Gah, I can’t do this until the last bit of the game, take Arkham City for example. I hardly picked up any of the trophies until I finished the single player, but then again I love the single player so always want that to be the thing I finish first.

    I do shout at you when you do this, but all in good fun =) Sometimes I just want you to finish the game so you can see the ending and chat to me about it etc etc… selfish I know xD

Leave a Reply

 
