31 days, 31 gifts – God Is An Astronaut Edition!

Today you’ll be listening to the overwhelming beauty that is…God Is An Astronaut! GiaA are an instrumental & post-rock band, hailing from Glen of the Downs, Ireland. The band is made up of – Niels Kinsella, Torsten Kinsella, Lloyd Hanney & Jamie Dean (since 2011) – these 4 men make some of the most beautiful music, that I have ever heard.

I would absolutely love to see GiaA live – they call their live shows a ‘full audio visual show’, as they have self-edited video footage projected on a screen behind them, which is accompanied by a crazy lighting routine. I just think seeing them would be an amazing experience, their music is just…the only word I can use to describe it, is beautiful.

God is an Astronaut – Echoes (live)…

Echoes is my favourite song by GiaA. This song…is just amazing. It starts out so sombre, then it just…bursts, with energy, life. Then it slows down again, then assaults you all over again. No matter where I am when I hear this song, my eyes always close, and I remember all the people I’ve loved, and lost. I don’t know why, but every time I hear this song, I feel such an overwhelming sadness at first, and by the end I have a lump in my throat…and even though hearing this does make me sad, I can’t help but love it. Truly amazing music is when you hear a track like this, and you feel something. Not just a case of ‘oh, well this song has cool lyrics’, because a song doesn’t need lyrics, to be meaningful. This band, and their absolutely astounding music make me feel things, that no other medium has managed. They’re phenomenal.

If you haven’t heard of these guys before, then I simply ask that you listen to them, and hopefully you’ll be as touched by their music, as I am.

God is an Astronaut – Ascend To Oblivion. I play music continuously while I sleep, and I always seem to wake up to this song…it’s beautiful, and I find I can’t get up, until I’ve listened to the entire track.

God is an Astronaut – Fireflies & Empty Skies. I had to include this track, as it’s the first song I ever heard by GiaA, way back in 2005. The song that made me fall in love with this truly amazing band.

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on December 29, 2011.

One Response to “31 days, 31 gifts – God Is An Astronaut Edition!”

  1. Another band added to my list, love the last song!

Leave a Reply

 
