31 days, 31 gifts – Philip K. Dick Edition!

Today I give you…Philip K. Dick! This man is the sole reason I love the science fiction genre so much. His writing was so far ahead of his time…which is probably why so many of his novels have been made into films – A Scanner Darkly (which is absolutely mind blowing), Minority Report, Blade Runner (Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? is one of my personal favourites), PayCheck, The Adjustment Bureau, Total Recall, Next – to name but a few.

His writing has influenced so many parts of my life, I’ve based countless essays & art projects on his novels (A Scanner Darkly & Second Variety being my favourites). This man was absolutely amazing, and I hope that anyone reading this – who has maybe seen some of the above mentioned films, and wondered where the inspiration came from – will take the time to find & read some of his works. You won’t be disappointed.

What does a scanner see? Into the head? Down into the heart? Does it see into me, into us? Clearly or darkly? I hope it sees clearly, because I can’t any longer see into myself. I see only murk. I hope for everyone’s sake the scanners do better. Because if the scanner sees only darkly, the way I do, then I’m cursed and cursed again…” –¬†Seriously ‘A Scanner Darkly’ is sort of an obsession of mine – it’s pretty much my all time favourite thing to read, and one of my favourite films, so here is the trailer…

And just because I love this piece of dialogue so much…

Luckman: You’re the only person in the known universe who’s never heard of the Heimlich maneuver!?
Barris: Alright, I’m gonna give you a little feedback since you seem to be proceeding through life like a cat without whiskers perpetually caught behind the refrigerator. Your life and watching you live it is like a gag-reel of ineffective bodily functions. I swear to god that a toddler has a better understanding of the intricacies of chew-swallow-digest-don’t kill yourself on your TV dinner! And yet you’ve managed to turn this near death f***up of yours into a moral referendum on me!
Luckman: You are a monster!
Barris: You are a billy goat!

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on December 7, 2011.

5 Responses to “31 days, 31 gifts – Philip K. Dick Edition!”

  1. Have you read Valis? It’s a favorite of mine and definitely worth a re-read. I attempted to teach an excerpt of it to my undergrad class once and it was a disaster!

    • I have read (you have impeccable taste). Oh dear, it’s such a shame that many people haven’t even heard of this man, and his works, let alone understand it. I’m going to add your blog to my ‘blogroll’, as you seem very intelligent and interesting. =) Thanks for the comment, and I look forward to reading more of your blog.

  2. Thanks! Alas, I only was first exposed to him in college. We had to read ‘The Electric Ant’ in a short story class. I’m not super well-versed in his oeuvre but then again the man did write a novel almost every other week.

    Cheers,
    [lady] Acid Free Pulp

    • He did write quite a lot, and at least you discovered him, eventually ^_^ apologies for the ‘sir’, I don’t even know why I tried to assume which gender you were, doh >.<

      I've actually been re-reading VALIS today, such a great read.

  3. The personal reading experience I find with PKD is that when I think I have a grasp on what is really happening, I soon feel my fingers slip away. While reading VALIS, I finally just said to myself: ‘let it go. just go with the flow.’

Leave a Reply

 
