You & I…We’re gonna Fallout!

Originally posted at the brilliant http://ugotbeatbyagirl.com/ site.

This is not a review, just my first impression & opinion of the game!

Fallout: New Vegas is the indirect sequel to the 2008 hit Fallout 3. Now I’m going to be honest, I own the GOTY (game of the year) edition of Fallout 3…and have played a whopping total of…20 minutes – and I have the audacity to call myself a gamer? The truth is, I got out into the wasteland, wandered about, then decided it just wasn’t worth the effort – it’s just so vast. The same can be said for NV, which isn’t a bad thing, it just takes so long to get into. Now, to enter NV…

So my character is now female, her hair is pink, I’ve setup her S.P.E.C.I.A.L (strength, perception, endurance, charisma, intelligence, agility, luck) skills…now what? Oh right, collect some stim-paks (health), and I’ve acquired my pip-boy, no I will not be playing hardcore, thank you very much! Off into the huge world of NV I go! An NPC is going to help me out, basically a tutorial mission, good – I have no clue what I’m doing. Follow the NPC girl…she has a dog called ‘Cheyenne’, who floats, as opposed to walking after her…and now the dog is stuck against that big rock…hmm…anyway, shoot some geckos. Ah yes, VATS (vault-tec assisted targeting system) are my friend! Now she wants me to find some flowers…*sigh*.

I’m afraid that’s as far as I got last night – what with the glitchy NPCs, long loading times & buggy cut-scenes…having said that, I will be continuing to play it tonight, it does seem like a genuinely good game. Perhaps it could have used less glitches/bugs though…

 

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on December 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
