Online Loneliness

It’s been quite some time since I’ve had the time to actually use my laptop, I usually just make do with my iPod – as I’m addicted to twitter! I love using my laptop, so after weeks (even months) of not using it or the Internet (for anything other than tweeting), I was really looking forward to hopping on…

10 minutes later, I was staring at my desktop – wondering what to do. That’s when I came to the realisation that I really don’t do very much online. I’m not a member of any online communities, there are very few forums that I visit & post on (http://ugotbeatbyagirl.com/forum/ is one of the few), I have very few friends on MSN messenger.

I only ever buy things online from play.com, I use heartagram.com to get updates regarding my favourite band, I sometimes use google to aid me in my achievement whoring, I sometimes login to last.fm to see what my recommendations are, xbox.com to check friends requests/messages – when I don’t have access to my console, and lovefilm.com to update my rental list…that’s my whole online life. I don’t use the facebook website, or even the twitter website (very often). I much prefer the iPod apps. Clean, simple, and no hassle (booting up the computer, just to update something).

I’m actually on MSN messenger, as I type this. I’ve asked a couple of the people who are currently online, which websites they’ve been on today. The answer from both people was facebook. They’ve spent the entire day just idling on that site. Updating their status, reading updates, playing facebook games & photo stalking people. I genuinely don’t understand the appeal of facebook – I think it’s a rather boring website. I very rarely update through the facebook app, I only use it when I’m alerted to a message or a pending friend request. I’ve said it many times, but I’m a total twitter addict.

Maybe this is why I rarely use my laptop, because it’s really quite lonely. I quite enjoy Warcraft, but I play it completely alone. I’m not a member of a guild, I don’t have a raiding party…I just play solo – one of the main reasons I get bored of the game.

This is also probably why I love twitter so much, there are many people on there that I consider to be friends, and people I can chat to about gaming, personal problems or just have a giggle with.

I suppose the point of this post, is that I would like to enjoy using the Internet more, than what I currently do. I would love to be a member of an active guild on Warcraft, or apart of an active & friendly gaming community. The truth is, I’m just not sure of how to go about completing these self made objectives =/

I’d also love to update my gaming  blog more, as I don’t really want it to just be about gaming. I enjoy many things, and would quite enjoy blogging about a variety of things. I think I’m going to try to make more of an effort with my blog, and with trying to be an active member of an online community.

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on December 9, 2010.

One Response to “Online Loneliness”

  1. I’m grateful for you because of this good written content. You definitely did make my day :

Leave a Reply

 
