Social Networking – Yay or Nay?

‘Facebook is for friends, that are now strangers. Twitter is for strangers, that should be your friends…’ – Unsure of who the original poster, well tweeter, was – but, it’s a brilliant (and for me, very accurate) quote.

This will probably come as a huge surprise to some, but I’ve never been a huge fan of social networking (at least until I discovered twitter!). I think myspace.com is a pain in the arse! Flashing backgrounds, neon text colours, irritating music, need I go on? Myspace.com is for the 13-16 year olds, who think it’s cool to have 12 different fonts, clashing colour schemes, and pictures of themselves “crying blood”. It’s not cool, and it’s not clever. It makes me want to gouge my own eyes out, with a spoon. (I do believe that myspace.com is more of a music profile site now…? Whatever, it still sucks.)

Facebook (failbook) is for the 16+ year olds, who want to stay in touch – with school friends, work colleagues, family members, etc. Lies! All lies! It’s the website you use, to see what that girl or boy, you used to have a crush on, are up to now. It’s the website you use, to photo stalk the person you sort of like, or the website you use, to wind up your other half. It’s not a social networking site, it’s a ‘let’s stalk that person who turned me down’ website. I hate it, but still use it -.-

Bebo – I haven’t used this site, and I don’t plan on using it. I imagine it’s just a mix of facebook, and myspace though. (I’m a brilliant writer, I don’t even bother researching – at the end of the day, this is just all personal opinion.)

Twitter! I love me some twittering! I am a self-confessed twitter-a-holic. I’m an avid ‘blogger’ (personal), and I think that’s why twitter appeals to me so much. I can make short, random 140 tweets – that people can comment on (well, send an ‘@’), if they so wish. The only thing that keeps me on twitter, and will keep me using it, is the amazing people I’ve met, through the site/service. There are some twitter friends, who I now consider to be my ‘real’ friends. I talk to them, and tell them things – that I would never dream of telling my so-called ‘real life’ friends. Thanks to twitter, I’ve met like minded people, with the same interests, and views, as myself. I can tweet absolutely anything – if I’m happy, sad, angry, etc. I can even post pictures, videos, links. It’s versatile, and I’m a total twitter fangirl, ’nuff said =p

In my opinion, twitter wins the social networking war, hands down!

This is just a random little blog, containing my personal opinions. No research has been done, so any inaccuracies that may occur, I do apologise for.

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on August 7, 2010.

10 Responses to “Social Networking – Yay or Nay?”

  1. Yep I prefer Twitter aswell. It’s so easy to tweet.

  2. So very true on all counts. Bebo is really the Chav networking site, you know, little boy racers and their Corsas. I too am now addicted to Twitter and it is a much friendlier place (friendlier than the local pub too).

  3. Completely agreed. Twitter is so much more fun, simpler and easier to use than any of the others.

  4. I totally agree with all of this! Fookbook is such a stalkish place, though I still use it. I like the fact I have my family who live half way round the world and I can share pictures as often as I like; email takes to long.

    Bebo – enough said!

    Twitter – I have met some lovely people on twitter, including you. I am ever so greatful!

    Brilliant article and great read 😀

  5. I agree with you that Myspace is for the younger crowd. I have twitter for my gaming friends and facebook for my friends IRL and family. I have “met” really cool peeps through Twitter though and not only that, I can follow my inspirations and I can search for other peeps who share similar interests!

  6. Thumbs up!
    I think the main thing I like about Twitter is just the fact that you can be as open or as distant as you like. With Facebook it feels like you’re expected to share a certain amount, even when you’ve put your privacy settings (that seem to change weekly) as high as they can go that idiot from school somehow still finds you and asks to be “friends” and you’re expected to accept. With Twitter people follow you because they like what you’re saying, because they want to know what you’re up to, whatever. There’s no expectations, there’s no unwritten rule that says you have to follow back everyone that follows you and indeed if you did then Twitter would lose what makes it good, a strange amount of honesty among the users.
    Twitter is still relatively small, a lot of people just don’t get it, they don’t understand it and really I think it’s better for it. If all those people who don’t get it were pushed into using it then things would get messy to say the least.

Leave a Reply

 
