Is it okay, if it’s online?

Let’s discuss online interactions – whether it be through XBox LIVE, facebook, myspace, twitter, other social networking sites, PSN, etc. How real are we, really? On LIVE, say you message someone telling them how awful they are, you hate them and then the general insults. Would you do that to someone’s face? I doubt it. So why do we feel it’s okay to do it ‘virtually’?

I’ve recently been receiving harassing messages and picture messages (you don’t even want to know what sort of pictures). It’s gotten to the point where I’ve blocked communications from anyone not on my friends list. The messages I was receiving were sexually harassing, would that be acceptable “in real life”? No, it wouldn’t. So again, why do people think it’s okay to do it, across a messaging service? I know many people will say ‘meh, ignore it’ or ‘it’s just a joke’ – but, why should I have to ignore abuse, from someone I don’t even know? I file a complaint, block them, then receive even more abuse from other GTs. Also, if it was a joke, I’d be laughing.

It just really gets to me that people think it’s okay to verbally abuse each other, just because it’s over the Internet. So long as it’s not face-to-face, it’s okay? Harassment, whether it’s in the workplace, school or online, is still harassment! I’ve talked to friends about ‘cyber-bullying’, and they actually laughed, then asked how you can bully someone online, very easily! Just because you’re not being physically hurt, doesn’t mean you’re not being bullied or harassed.

I understand why people bully one another ‘in real life’, but I cannot grasp why they would do it to a complete stranger…? Anyone want to enlighten me? Is it so they can feel superior in some way? If so, then…wow…the world is in a worse state, than I originally thought…

Sorry, just had to get this off my chest. Treat others, the way you want to be treat – aka, treat each other well, no matter what gender, race, etc.

Originally posted: Tuesday, 2nd February 2010

~ by HerEvilRoyalty on March 5, 2010.

2 Responses to “Is it okay, if it’s online?”

  1. Didn’t you write something almost similar, for the old college newspaper?

  2. Given any degree of anonymity, people will be hurtful and hateful towards one another.
    Tell your friends that cyber-bullying DOES exist. I should know, I had a hate club formed against me by other people in my year at school.

Leave a Reply

 
